Municipal, District, and Local Government Law

Smith Hartvigsen represents local governments, including counties, cities, towns, and districts throughout Utah on a variety of legal issues. Counties and cities with sophisticated in-house attorneys have retained Smith Hartvigsen on specialty legal issues including land use planning, redevelopment, and water law. Other local governmental entities without the resources for in-house legal staff rely on Smith Hartvigsen for all their legal needs.

Smith Hartvigsen is one of the leading law firms representing districts and local agencies in Utah. We are general counsel to many types of districts and agencies, such as local districts, improvement districts, special service districts, recreation districts, drainage districts, electric districts, redevelopment agencies, economic development agencies, and building authorities. In addition, our attorneys have represented local governments in specialty areas such as district formation; legislative work at federal, state and local levels; constitutional challenges; elections laws; impact fees law; employment law; procurement law; litigation; and appellate work.

Representative Local Government Clients:
Daggett County
Duchesne County
Clearfield City
Duchesne City
Grantsville City
Myton City
Orangeville City
Park City
Pleasant View City
Providence City
South Ogden City
South Salt Lake City
Angell Springs Special Service District
Benchland Water District
Copperton Improvement District
East Riverton Drainage District
Fruitland Special Service District
Magna Water District
Mountain Regional Water Special Service District
North Village Special Service District
Skyline Mountain Special Service District
Snyderville Basin Special Recreation District
Ticaboo Utility Improvement District
Twin Creeks Special Service District
Vernon Waterworks Special Service District
Wasatch County Service Area #1